Eggsactly what I was after

I mentioned previously I have been working on a special gift for a very good friend.
I have had a few mishaps along the way, with many attempts simply breaking up. This has either been down to splits in the wood, or my clumsy technique. (or perhaps both?)
Anyhow, I managed to finish the hollowed out vessel, which represents a rugby ball. I wanted the piece to appear to float, so mounted it on a piece of pine, using a stainless steel peg.
Rugger-Egg
The ball is made from cherry, and has particularly striking grain. It has had a few coats of oil, and a few coats of paste wax just to bring out the natural colour.
The top half lifts off so small mementos can be stored inside if required.

This entry was posted in cherry, Chuck, Idiot Inside, Turning, Woodchuck Chuck, Woodturning and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.