Another non-turning day

Yes folks, no turning yesterday. It was such a nice day, I decided to wash and titivate the car instead. I did wash it after the worst of the snow and ice was gone, but just lately it has become covered in bird doings and dust from the new housing being built up the road.
My wipers were in a shocking state, as was the plastic part of the scoop for the turbo intercooler intake.
Off with the dirt then, and a rub down with a clay bar to get the contaminants off the paint surface. A good hot hand wash, then sprayed with foam to dissolve the baked on stuff, followed by another wash and dry down.
Wheel rims were covered in brake dust, so they got a good going over too.
A polish with liquid wax should protect the paintwork until I get time to give the whole car a full machine polish and get rid of the scratches I didn’t manage to get polished out by hand.
A quick blast with black engine lacquer on the wiper arms, and white stuff on the scoop and they’re good as new.
All in all, not bad looking for a 16 year old motor car.
Betty Cleaned

This entry was posted in Woodturning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Another non-turning day

  1. billlattpa says:

    Your car looks great. My wife and I just both purchased new ones 3 months apart after having our cars for nearly ten years. These were both the first brand new cars we had ever purchased, as before we only had pre-owned vehicles. I’m sure to wash every weekend both inside and out and also wax once a month. I’m hoping to have these vehicles a long, long time. Good luck with yours! I hope it lasts for as long as you want it to!!
    Bill

    • Tom Speirs says:

      Cheers. My previous one was stolen and was found burned out. This one is looking good for the age of it, and I intend keeping it that way.

Comments are closed.