The Weekend So Far

Here I am in the middle of a long weekend, celebrating the May-day holiday. I was asked to make a gift for a 50th birthday gift. The recipient is an avid rugby fan, and is difficult to buy for. The person making the request asked for a ball like the one I did previously. I couldn’t do another the same, as the first was a gift from me to a friend.
I decided instead to make a desk set complete with pen. The ball and pen are spalted beech, and the base is iroko. Both are simply polished with beeswax on top of a shellac sealer.
Desk set #2
I think the wood is particularly attractive.
I also decided I needed a tea caddy for work, so turned this little box from some fairly plain beech. The finial is from a scrap piece of spalted beech
Tea Caddy #2
The finial is a little skew-wiff, because I turned the peg holding it to the lid too small.
I will be off out to the shed again soon. I hope to finish a plant stand I started yesterday, and will look through some off-cuts I found yesterday to see whether any shapes grab my attention.

This entry was posted in Beech, friction polish, Mahogany, moonshine, Pen, spalted beech, Turned Pen, Wood Pen, Woodchuck Chuck, Woodturning and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.